Book Review – Patient Zero

by Jonathan Maberry

Joe Ledger is good, really good, usually when he puts someone down, they stay down, but like the story starts “When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there’s either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills… and there’s nothing wrong with Joe Ledger’s skills.”

In that first paragraph I was “all in”. Patient Zero grabbed hold and never let go. Maberry is relentless, he latches on to your greatest fears, shows you people you might know, people you may even love, then shows you the worst things you can imagine, and some you couldn’t.

From a literary perspective this book was fascinating, as the story is told both in first person (From the perspective of Joe Ledger) and also in third person when it is necessary to see things from another perspective. I’ll be honest, I haven’t seen this done much and never  this well. There was a moment in the very beginning of the when my mind wanted to shout POV violation, but once i saw what had happened I realized just how well it worked.

This is, bar none, one of the best books I’ve read in a couple of years, and THE best zombie book I’ve read. Don’t let the whole Zombie thing keep you from reading this. It’s not really about the zombies, it’s about the people. Jonathan Maberry doesn’t create characters, the PEOPLE in this book feel as real as you and me.

