Last Wednesday, Charity and I celebrated our 14th anniversary, as is often necessary, our celebration was put off until Friday so we could actually find care for the kids. With the them taken care of, and alot of options for the night, we had dinner and made the difficult decision as to what to do next. There were actually alot of options in Springfield for once. Originally we were going on a haunted tour of Pythian Castle, it sold out, leaving me torn between “Night of the Living Dead” at the Vandevort, or “Turn of the Screw” at Canvas. We chose “Turn of the Screw” mostly because I’m a Henry James fan, but also because it was half the price.

I can’t tell you how happy I am with the decision. Adie Williams and Connor Eastman put on one hell of a show, with Adie playing the Governess and Conner taking on the parts of, The Master, Mrs. Grose, Flora, Miles, and Peter Quint. While I’m writing this I’m trying to think of a way I can explain how that Conner pulled this off without it coming off corny and…I can’t. He just did it, and I was completely pulled into the story without another thought. Adie’s portrayal of the Governess was flawless, I honestly could have watched the show all night, it was simply incredible. If you are in the area, there are 3 other showings this week, 2 on Nov 1st and 1 on Nov 3rd.  I can’t recommend it enough. It’ll be the best $10 of entertainment you ever pay for. Also If you leave a message on their Facebook page “Turn of the Screw” or call 417.766.3139 they’ll  hold seats for you. It doesn’t get any easier than that.

